Nevada Gaming Commission adopts new esports betting rules

esports set up
Image: Shutterstock

The Nevada Gaming Commission has introduced new regulations for esports betting, making it easier for operators to offer wagering on video game events. 

The regulator has introduced new measures meaning that operators no longer have to ask for special permission to offer betting on esports and categorize esports wagering under the “other events” section of the wagering catalog. 

Before this regulatory update, operators were forced to gain exclusive approval if they wished to offer betting on esports on their platforms. Now, the regulator is aiming to take a less adversarial approach to esports. 

With esports filed under the “other” category, there is much less red tape, allowing for esports to be offered more similarly to other sports. 

However, the regulator still holds special powers to issue bans on certain types of esports betting if it sees it fit to, for example, if there are integrity concerns. 

The new regulation reads: “If a book accepts wagers on an esports event, the book shall maintain records reflecting all the information described in subsection three for the esports event. The book shall update these records as often as necessary to satisfy the requirements of subsection three. 

“The book shall provide a report to the board not later than 15 days after the start of a calendar quarter which includes the names of the event operators for all esports events on which the book accepted wagers during the previous calendar quarter. The Chair is hereby granted the authority to issue an interlocutory order prohibiting books from accepting wagers on events conducted by an event operator.”

Nevada now joins five other states that specifically regulate esports betting, providing operators with clear guidance on what they can and cannot offer. 

The other states that have specific regulations around esports betting are Illinois, Michigan, Mississippi, New York and Rhode Island

Meanwhile, esports betting is legal in 16 states including Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Tennessee, Virginia and Washington.