Dave Forestell departs iGO for AGCO after sudden exit of ex-Chair Aggarwal

new Chair
Image: Shutterstock

The Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) has acted swiftly to name Dave Forestell as new Chair of its Board of Directors, following the exit of previous incumbent Lalit Aggarwal.

The regulatory agency sprung a surprise last Tuesday with the news that Aggarwal had resigned from his role, citing a desire to ‘spend more time with his family and to focus on his business affairs’.

In the same news release the AGCO announced that the Board’s Vice-Chair, Heidi Reinhart, had assumed the Chair’s responsibilities in the interim, seemingly putting an immediate end to Aggarwal’s four-year tenure.

Just three days later, Forestell was confirmed as the new, permanent Chair of the AGCO Board of Directors.

A sitting member of the AGCO Board, having first been appointed in Dec. 2018, Forestell combined his duties at the Ontario Crown agency with his role as Chair of iGaming Ontario (iGO), which works closely with the AGCO to regulate the province’s online gaming market.

However, Forestell has now stepped down as Chair of iGO in order to focus on his new responsibilities at the AGCO, with the process already underway to appoint his successor at iGO.

Forestell also serves as Vice President, External Relations (Canada) for TC Energy, and he previously held the roles of Vice President, International Corporate and Commercial Banking and Vice President, Office of the President and CEO at Scotiabank.

relax gaming banner