Sports Betting Hall of Fame announces five new members

The Sports Betting Hall of Fame will see five new members inducted next year at the Betting on Sports America conference in New Jersey, organized by SBC.

The Sports Betting Hall of Fame recognizes industry legends who have made an outstanding contribution to the betting and gaming industry over their careers. 

2020 will see five new inductees into the Hall of Fame:

  • Raymond Lesniak, Former Senator New Jersey
  • Jay Rood, COO, Bet.Works
  • Roxy Roxborough, Legendary Las Vegas Oddsmaker
  • Victor Salerno, President, USBookmaking & US Fantasy Sports
  • Sara Slane, Former American Gaming Association Sr VP

They will be welcomed into the Sports Betting Hall of Fame at a special ceremony during Betting on Sports America, which is being held once again at New Jersey’s Meadowlands Exposition Center across April 28-30. 

Sue Schneider, SBC’s Vice President of Growth and Strategy, said the second line-up of  US-based inductees includes a number of stalwarts from the sports betting industry. “All five of these individuals are among the trailblazers of sports betting in the United States. From operators, legislatures, oddsmakers, and industry advocates this group also shows the depth and breadth of the overall industry within the US.”

Delegates to the Betting on Sports America conference will have full access to the enshrinement ceremony. Full details of the event will be released at a later date. 

Last year saw Art Manteris, Dennis Drazan and Chris Christie inducted into the Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Manhattan that also featured NFL record holder and Pro Football Hall of Fame member Morten Andersen.

The Sports Betting Hall of Fame was curated in order to recognize the individuals who have contributed a great deal to the industry over the course of their careers with a lasting legacy. It honors, preserves and perpetuates the names and outstanding accomplishments of personalities who have brought lasting fame to the sports betting sector.

Previous inductees include former New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, Station Casinos VP Race and Sports Book Operations Art Manteris, Pinnacle CEO Paris Smith, Sportingbet Founder Mark Blandford, Sportradar Founder Carsten Koerl, Betfred Founder Fred Done, BetConstruct Founder Vigen Badalyan and Bookmaker Technology Consortium director Howard Chisholm.

Betting on Sports America, held April 28-30 in New Jersey, is the largest dedicated sports betting conference & exhibition in the world. Registration for Betting on Sports America 2020 is now open, with the general pass available at the Super Early Bird Rate of $395, a saving of $300 on the standard price.